

March 9, 2012

The Honorable Jo-Ellen Darcy Assistant Secretary of the Army (Civil Works) 108 Army Pentagon Washington, DC 20310-0108

Dear Secretary Darcy:

We the undersigned members of the Great Lakes Legislative Caucus (GLLC) are writing to urge you to expedite the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers' Great Lakes-Mississippi River Interbasin Study (GLMRIS). The GLLC is a nonpartisan, binational organization representing the eight U.S. states and two Canadian provinces that are home to the Great Lakes. One of our primary goals is the protection and restoration of the Great Lakes. Preventing the spread of aquatic invasive species is one of our highest priorities.

As state and provincial legislators from the Great Lakes region, we understand the environmental, economic, and cultural significance of the Lakes to the people of our region. We experience firsthand the damage to the Lakes caused by aquatic invasive species. We also contribute to the high costs of preventing new introductions and controlling or attempting to eradicate the invasive species that are already here.

We recognize that the Corps has a significant task in GLMRIS, with the project encompassing two Focus Areas, 39 different species, and 27 categories of possible controls. Our principal concern at this time, however, is keeping Asian carp from invading Lake Michigan through the Chicago Area Waterway System. We are concerned that, if the Corps adheres to its current schedule and publishes a final report in 2015, it might be too late to keep the carp out of Lake Michigan.

In January, the Great Lakes Commission and Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative released a report, "Restoring the Natural Divide," on the feasibility of separating the Great Lakes and Mississippi River watersheds. We hope this study will inform the Corps's work on GLMRIS and help the Corps compress its schedule for completing the project.

We appreciate the Corps's hard work trying to prevent the spread of aquatic invasive species. We would appreciate your help in moving the GLMRIS project forward on a faster track. We look forward to your response.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Minnesota State Senator Ann Rest at 651.296.2889 or Lisa Janairo at 920.458.5910.

Sincerely,

ann Best

Senator Ann Rest, GLLC Chair Minnesota

Karen May

Representative Karen May Illinois

いい

Senator Ed Charbonneau Indiana

Representative Joan Bauer Michigan

Kowall

Representative Eileen Kowall Michigan

Representative Sean McCann Michigan

Yooleroan

Senator John Moolenaar Michigan

ours (

Senator Tonya Schuitmaker Michigan

Representative Jim Abeler Minnesota

Scott Dibble

Senator D. Scott Dibble Minnesota

Beverly Gard

Senator Beverly Gard Indiana

6. Broker

Senator Darwin Booher Michigan

Representative Richard LeBlanc Michigan

Ala Balakhe

Senator Arlan Meekhof Michigan

Anonda Vrice

Representative Amanda Price Michigan

Dale ces for

Representative Dale Zorn Michigan

Representative Lyndon Carlson Minnesota

Undren & Talk

Representative Andrew Falk Minnesota

Marion guine

Representative Marion Greene Minnesota

Jausman

Representative Alice Hausman Minnesota

Senator John Howe Minnesota

Representative Leon Lillie Minnesota

Anw

Senator Mary Jo McGuire Minnesota

Joe Mullery

Representative Joe Mullery Minnesota

- ferrell

Representative John Persell Minnesota

Senator Tom Saxhaug Minnesota

Minty

Representative Mindy Greiling Minnesota

Hindathagins

Senator Linda Higgins Minnesota

Klich Jarget

Senator Keith Langseth Minnesota

Senator Warren Limmer Minnesota

Denny Millemera

Representative Denny McNamara Minnesota

Representative Erin Murphy Minnesota

com

Senator Roger J. Reinert Minnesota

Katie Sieben

Senator Katie Sieben Minnesota

finda Slo um

Representative Linda Slocum Minnesota

.E.U )arf

Representative John Ward Minnesota

Assemblywoman Crystal D. Peoples-Stokes New York

Edna Brown

Senator Edna Brown Ohio

Senator Nina Turner Ohio

Senator Jane Earll Pennsylvania

tatrick f. Harkins

Representative Patrick J. Harkins Pennsylvania

Representative Curt Sonney Pennsylvania

dean Wagmino

Representative Jean Wagenius Minnesota

Deorge D. Mayang

Senator George D. Maziarz New York

Representative John E. Barnes, Jr. Ohio

leto

Representative Ted Celeste Ohio

Mark Wagows

Senator Mark Wagoner Ohio

Representative Florindo J. Fabrizio Pennsylvania

Tok Homaman

Representative John Hornaman Pennsylvania

mary Jow hite

Senator Mary Jo White Pennsylvania

Senator Robert Cowles Wisconsin

Cary Ma ~

Representative Cory Mason Wisconsin

Representative Mark Pocan Wisconsin

Senator Chris Larson Wisconsin

A. Molesske G.

Representative Louis Molepske, Jr. Wisconsin