Executive Committee Welcomes New Representation from Minnesota, Ohio, Québec, and Wisconsin

June 16, 2023

Earlier this year, the GLLC welcomed four new Executive Committee members: Senator Mary Kunesh from Minnesota, Senator Theresa Gavarone from Ohio, MNA Joëlle Boutin from Québec, and Representative Lisa Subeck from Wisconsin. Senator Kunesh serves on the Environment, Climate, and Legacy Committee and is a founding member of the Native American and People of Color & Indigenous (POCI) caucuses in the Minnesota Senate. Senator Gavarone was a 2019 Birkholz Fellow and also represents Ohio on the Great Lakes Commission. MNA Boutin previously held a partial term on the GLLC Executive Committee and is the Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Economy, Innovation, and Energy. Representative Subeck was a 2019 Birkholz Fellow and is the Ranking Member on the Wisconsin Assembly Committee on Energy and Utilities.

The four new members join representatives from the other six states and provinces, the GLLC officers, and ex officio members on the Executive Committee. In addition, the Executive Committee also includes Olmsted County Commissioner David Senjem from Minnesota and Senator Laura Ellman from Illinois, both of whom are chairs of GLLC committees and task forces.